congratulations to @chikaunigwe for winning the NLNG prize.

congratulations to @chikaunigwe for winning the NLNG prize.

Nov 1, 2012- NLNG World Press Conference at the Eko Hotel and Suites; The 2012 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature goes to Chika Unigwe, author of On Black Sisters Street. The Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature has announced On Black sisters street winner of the controversial NLNG Prize for Literature with an accompanying $100,000.

Chairman of the Board, Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo, announced the winner of the competition on 1st November, 2012, at a world press conference at Eko Hotel & Suites, Lagos.

On Black Sister’s Street tells a gripping story of the lives of four African migrants working the red light district of Antwerp in Belgium brought together by bad luck and big dreams into a sisterhood that will change their lives. The Enugu-born graduate of English Language and Literature, Chika Unigwe, lives in Belgium. She is married with four children.

The chairman of the panel of judges is Prof. Francis Abiola Irele, Provost of the College of Humanities at the Kwara State University and Fellow of the Dubois Institute, Harvard University. Other members of the panel are Prof. Angela Miri, Head of the English Department at the University of Jos, Prof. Sophia Ogwude, Dean of the Faculty of Arts at University of Abuja, Prof J O J Nwachukwu-Agbada, Professor of African Literature in the Department of English, Abia State University and Dr. Oyeniyi Okunoye, a Senior Lecturer at the Department of English, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and a Section Editor of Postcolonial Text, a journal affiliated to the Association for Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies.

Other members of the Advisory Board, besides Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, are Dr. Jerry Agada, former President of Association of Nigerian Authors and Prof. Ben Elugbe, President, Nigeria Academy of Letters.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Gabriel Okara, founding father of modern Nigerian poetry, Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner 2004), Ahmed Yerima, for his classic, Hard Ground, Mabel Segun for her collection of short plays, Reader’s Theatre; Kaine Agary for Yellow Yellow, Esiaba Irobi who posthumously clinched the prize in 2010, with his book, Cemetery Road and Adeleke Adeyemi, with pen name Mai Nasara, last year, for The Missing Clock.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. The 2012 prize is for prose fiction. The prize has a cash value of USD 100, 000 (One hundred thousand United States Dollars). A total of 214 books were submitted for the 2012 edition of The Nigeria Prize for Literature.


Editor’s Note – Congrats to Chika Unigwe! She is also a friend of naijastories, so double congrats.

Transcript of Chika Unigwe’s chat with NS Members

Review of the winning book, On black Sisters Street

13 thoughts on “congratulations to @chikaunigwe for winning the NLNG prize.” by Admin (@ogaoga)

  1. Congrats Dear, even though I don’t know you.

  2. No be beans o.

    At all.

    You do very well.

  3. Wow, congratulations.
    Hope to be like you when I grow up.

    1. @dira, you never grow up like this?

  4. Congratulations! Not easy to win such a prize.

  5. Congrats to the sis I don’t know.

  6. Kudos to the author.She is an inspiration.

  7. Let me go read what she wrote first.

  8. very nice indeed, indeed a standard to look forward to.

  9. congratulations and more grease to your elbows. this is good for naija

  10. Did she join us after this post? Please, what’s her mention-name?
    Big congrats to Chika. She sure has an amiable personality. Glad she won. At least, it also brought ‘At Black Sisters Street’ to the Naija market proper!

  11. Congratulationssssss!!!

    IT isnt easy, more ink to your pen…

  12. A big congratulations to Chika Unigwe – she has done her nation proud. May her ink never runs dry…

Leave a Reply