4 Nigerians Named in the Commonwealth Writers Prize Shortlists.

4 Nigerians Named in the Commonwealth Writers Prize Shortlists.


The Commonwealth Foundation has announced shortlists for the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize and Commonwealth Short Story Prize. Part of Commonwealth Writers, the prizes unearth, develop and promote the best new writing from across the Commonwealth, developing literary connections worldwide.

The Commonwealth Book Prize is awarded for the best first novel, and the Commonwealth Short Story Prize for the best piece of unpublished short fiction. Writers from around the world have been shortlisted in anticipation of being announced as overall winners at Hay Festival, on 31 May 2013.

The winner of the Commonwealth Book Prize receives £10,000, with regional winners receiving £2,500. The winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize receives £5,000, with regional winners receiving £1,000.


Commonwealth Book Prize

1. Sarah House, Ifeanyi Ajaegbo (Nigeria), Pan Macmillan South Africa
Disposable People, Ezekel Alan (Jamaica), self-published
Floundering, Romy Ash (Australia), Text Publishing
Running the Rift, Naomi Benaron (Canada), HarperCollins Canada
Mazin Grace, Dylan Coleman (Australia), University of Queensland Press
A Tiger in Eden, Chris Flynn (Australia), Text Publishing
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Howard Fry, Rachel Joyce (United Kingdom), Transworld Publishers
The Headmaster’s Wager, Vincent Lam (Canada), Doubleday Canada
Island of a Thousand Mirrors, Nayomi Munaweera (Sri Lanka), Perera-Hussein Publishing House
The Death of Bees, Lisa O’Donnell (United Kingdom), William Heinemann
2. The Spider King’s Daughter, Chibundu Onuzo (Nigeria), Faber and Faber
Em and the Big Hoom, Jerry Pinto (India), Aleph Book Company
The Wildings, Nilanjana Roy (India), Aleph Book Company
The Great Agony & Pure Laughter of the Gods, Jamala Safari (South Africa), Umuzi
The Last Thread, Michael Sala (Australia), Affirm
The Other Side of Light, Mishi Saran (India), HarperCollins India
God on Every Wind, Farhad Sorabjee (India), Parthian
3. Sterile Sky, E.E. Sule (Nigeria), Pearson Education
Narcopolis, Jeet Thayil (India), Faber and Faber
Beneath the Darkening Sky, Majok Tulba (Australia), Penguin Books Australia
The Bellwether Revivals, Benjamin Wood (United Kingdom), Simon & Schuster UK
Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Not for Publication, Rachel Bush (New Zealand)
A Killing in the Sun, Dilman Dila (Uganda)
NORMAL, Susan Everett (United Kingdom)
Chutney, Debz Hobs-Wyatt (United Kingdom)
Fatima Saleh, Alexander Ikawah (Kenya)
The New Customers, Julian Jackson (South Africa)
Notes from the Ruins, Anushka Jasraj (India)
A Good Friday, Barbara Jenkins (Trinidad and Tobago)
Antonya’s Baby Shower on Camperdown Road, A.L. Major (Bahamas)
Mango Summer, Janice Lynn (Bahamas)
Things With Faces, Zoë Meager (New Zealand)
The Sarong-Man in the Old House, and an Incubus for a Rainy Night, Michael Mendis (Sri Lanka)
The Whale House, Sharon Millar (Trinidad and Tobago)
4. No War is Worth Debating, Tobenna Nwosu (Nigeria)
Take me Home United Road, Sally-Ann Partridge (South Africa)
Mortal Sins, Sinead Roarty (Australia)
We Walked On Water, Eliza Robertson (Canada)
Tug of War, Deborah Rogers (New Zealand)
Raven, Tom Williams (Australia)


Political, religious and social conflict runs through many of this year’s shortlisted entries, but there are also humorous stories, stories of hope, and stories full of imagination and power. The unmatched global reach of the prizes allows readers internationally to engage with a world of literature that might otherwise remain undiscovered, consistently bringing less-heard voices to the fore.

Encompassing a span of 54 countries, entries are judged within the five regions of Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific, each of which will produce a regional winner for the two prizes. These will be announced on 14 May 2013.

The prizes’ judging panels are made up of eminent members of the international literary community. Commenting on the shortlisted entries, Chair of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize, BBC Special Correspondent Razia Iqbal, said, ‘People often assume short stories are easier to write because they’re, well, short! But it takes a particular skill to establish mood, character and tone in quick strokes, and tell a story which leaves a lasting impression. These stories open windows on worlds which seem familiar but, through fiction, which is tightly written, reflect those worlds, in richer and more surprising colours.’

Chair of the Commonwealth Book Prize, Godfrey Smith, said, ‘Our five judges did an admirable job of shortlisting from a bountiful harvest of debut novels, based on originality, linguistic flair, depth, quality of writing and freshness of tone. A number of books boldly pushed the boundaries of form and explosively rebelled against the conventional structures of fiction-writing, inspiring lively and passionate debates among the judges.’

For more information visit www.commonwealthwriters.org

5 thoughts on “4 Nigerians Named in the Commonwealth Writers Prize Shortlists.” by Admin (@ogaoga)

  1. Uyiosa (@wordsfromuyi)

    I almost submitted a work of mine, but almost does not make the cut so I’ll make sure my work is shortlisted next year.

  2. Olan (@Olan)

    Reading Tobena Nwosu’s profile got me ecstatic. It sent a thrill through my veins. Know why? He is a 300L student at Babcock, I was really challenged. Its not about how many awards you have or even your age, its about having the passion and working hard at it. There was also another short listed lad who is sort of a beginner, he has no published works, infact reading his profile just made me smile, I think he said something about loving dogs and debating.

  3. I am so proud of them.They inspire me to try and improve my writing.

  4. In years to come, it will be Nigeria, Nigeria, Nigeria all the way.Congrats to them, they give people like us such concrete hope.Thanks for sharing @admin

  5. Go Fellas, go Fellas go…
    Way to go, keep the flag flying…

Leave a Reply