The Baobab Prize

The Baobab Prize

… An African Literary Award

Dear Naija Writers:

It is our pleasure to announce the Baobab Prize, an annual international literary award established to encourage the writing of African literature for young readers.

The Baobab Prize annually invites entries of unpublished African short stories written for audiences either 8-11 years or 12-15 years. This year the prize will award $1,000 to the best story in each category and $800 to the most promising young writer (18 years and below). Also, all short listed stories will be considered for possible publishing. The Baobab Prize is open to African citizens of all ages. Deadline for submission is June 21, 2010.

The mission of the Baobab Prize is two-fold: to identify the African literary giants of the next generation and to produce classic stories that will be appreciated for years to come. We cannot make this happen without you. We ask that you encourage students in your institution to write and submit their stories to be considered for this year’s contest. Attached to this correspondence is our flyer. We count on your support in spreading the word about this exciting initiative.

All necessary details and information are available on our WEBSITE


Deborah Ahenkorah & Rama Shagaya

Co-Founders, The Baobab Prize

No thoughts yet on “The Baobab Prize” by Admin (@ogaoga)

Leave a Reply