2011 Ana Literary Prizes

2011 Ana Literary Prizes

Nigerian writers, at home and abroad, who have and are willing to enter their new works for the Annual Literary Prizes of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) may now do so.

Interested creative writers should send six copies (6) of their entries, (specifying the category being entered for) alongside a covering letter to: The General Secretary, Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), to: Suite 63, National Theatre Complex, Iganmu Lagos.

The letter should contain complete contact details of the writer or publisher of the work, including email and surface mail addresses and telephone contact.

The ANA will not take responsibility for entries sent by post nor will it claim registered parcels, in cases where it has to pay for such claims.

The entries which can be for any or several (where applicable) of the following categories must not have been entered before and must have been published between 2010 and 2011:

ANA/Cadbury Prize for Poetry $2,500

(Published works only).

ANA/NDDC Flora Nwapa Prize for Women (Creative) Writing N100,000.00 (Published works only).

ANA/NDDC Gabriel Okara Prize for Poetry N100,000.00

(Published & unpublished works).

ANA/NDDC J. P. Clark Prize for Drama N100,000.00

(Published & unpublished works).

ANA/NDDC Ken Saro Wiwa Prize for Prose N100,000.00

(Published & unpublished works).

ANA/Chevron Prose Prize on Environmental issues (Prose) $2000.00

(Published works only).

ANA/Esiaba Irobi Prize for Playwrighting N50, 000.00

(Published & unpublished works).

ANA/Jacaranda Prize for Prose Fiction N50,000.00

(Published works only).

ANA/Funtime Prize for Children’s Literature (Prose) N150,000.00.

(unpublished works only, Ages 8-15).

Winning entry to be published by sponsor (Funtime Publications) with a sign on fee of N250,000.

ANA/Atiku Abubakar Prize for Children’s Literature N100,000.00

(Published works and picture books only; Ages 0-7)

ANA/Lantern Books Prize for Children’s Fiction N100,000.00

(Unpublished works only, Ages 8 – 15)

Winning entry to be published by Lantern Books

ANA/James Ene Henshaw Prize for Playwriting (Unpublished play scripts only) N100, 000.00

Playwright of winning entry to work with an experienced director for the production of the play.

ANA/NECO Teen Author Prize (prose) N100,000.00

(Published & unpublished works)

See below for specific guidelines.

ANA/Mazariyya Teen Author Prize (poetry) N50,000.00

(Published & unpublished works)

See below for specific guidelines.


1. Entrants must be students in any secondary school in Nigeria.

2. Entries must be a collection or a single story of between 25 – 40 pages for prose, or between 25 – 40 poems for poetry.

3. Illustration (optional).

4. Accompanying documents are:

(i) Letter of identification from school principals on letter headed papers

bearing name, signature and stamp with the entrants’ two passport

photographs, name, school, age (attach birth certificate)

(II) Entrants admission letters (Photocopy).

(III) Current cumulative record of entrant’s academic performance (Junior or

Secondary School).

(IV) Letter of consent from parents/Principal.

(V) Entrant’s email, and surface mail addresses and phone contact.

5. Unpublished entries (in four copies) should be properly bound.

Deadline for the receipt of all entries for the 2011 ANA Literary Prizes is Thursday 31st March 2011. A shortlist will be announced in October, 2011. Winners of the prizes will be announced by the judges at the Awards Dinner in Abuja, Federal Capital Territory, during the course of the 30th International Annual Convention of ANA in October, 2011.


National General Secretary


No thoughts yet on “2011 Ana Literary Prizes” by Admin (@ogaoga)

Leave a Reply